Colorado was one of the first states to legalize recreational marijuana. Despite the legalization of marijuana, the state of Colorado still has laws that regulate the use and possession of this drug. Some of these laws pertain to sharing marijuana with others. Is it illegal to share marijuana in Colorado? Here’s what you should know:
Legal Age For Marijuana Use
Recreational marijuana may be legal, but that doesn’t mean it’s legal for everyone. In Colorado, adults must be over the age of 21 in order to legally purchase, possess, and use recreational marijuana. Legal adults should never share marijuana with someone who is under the age of 21. Sharing marijuana with someone who is under the age of 21 is a felony crime in Colorado. This law applies even if you are sharing it with someone who is close to you, such as a family member or friend.
The penalties for sharing marijuana with someone under the age of 21 will vary depending on the amount of marijuana involved in the crime. Sharing less than one ounce can lead to up to two years behind bars and a fine of up to $100,000. But, sharing larger quantities of marijuana can lead to enhanced penalties. For example, sharing more than 2.5 pounds of marijuana with a minor could lead to up to 32 years of imprisonment and up to $1 million in fines.
Sharing With Legal Adults
It’s not hard to see why giving marijuana to someone who is not legally allowed to use it is a crime. But, what about sharing marijuana with other adults who are above the age of 21? Adults in Colorado are allowed to share up to one ounce of marijuana with other legal adults. However, sharing more than one ounce of marijuana with another legal adult is illegal since adults are prohibited from having more than one ounce in their possession.
Giving marijuana to other legal adults is also illegal if it is considered selling instead of sharing. If you are being compensated in any way in exchange for giving a legal adult marijuana, it is illegal.
Many people don’t find out that sharing marijuana is illegal under certain circumstances until they’ve been charged with a crime. If this happens to you, let the criminal defense attorneys at Reisch Law Firm fight for your freedom. Schedule a free consultation today by calling 303-291-0555 or filling out this online form.