Driving under the influence (DUI) is a crime that is taken very seriously in the state of Colorado. A DUI conviction can have long-lasting consequences that affect both your personal and professional life. For this reason—and many others—it is best that you contact an experienced DUI attorney as soon as possible after you have been arrested.
Misdemeanor vs. Felony DUI Charges
Driving under the influence can either be charged as a misdemeanor or felony, but in most cases it is a misdemeanor. The only time that DUI is charged as a felony is if you have three or more other DUI convictions on your record. Even if this is your first DUI charge in Colorado, if there are three convictions from other states in the U.S., you will still be charged with a felony.
If you are convicted of a misdemeanor DUI, you may be sentenced to up to one year in jail, fines of up to $1,500, alcohol education classes, and community service. In addition to these penalties, you may also have your driver’s license suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Dealing With the DMV After a DUI Charge
Drivers who have a BAC above the legal limit or who refuse to take the test may face license suspension. In fact, your license will automatically be suspended beginning 7 days after your arrest for DUI unless you take action to prevent this from happening.
You can fight for the right to keep your driving privileges by requesting a hearing with the DMV before the automatic suspension of your license begins. This hearing is conducted separately from the court hearings regarding your criminal charges, but a criminal defense attorney can help you with both aspects of your case. Our DUI attorneys will argue your case and attempt to have your license reinstated. If the DMV decides against reinstating your license, our attorneys will present a case that shows why you should be awarded a probationary driver’s license, which will allow you to drive to and from work and school.
It’s important that you focus on both parts of your DUI case—the administrative hearing with the DMV and the criminal court process—to achieve the best possible outcome. Luckily, the DUI attorneys at Reisch Law Firm can help you fight your license suspension and the charges against you.
How to Fight Back Against DUI Charges
There are several defenses available that your attorney may use to fight your DUI charges. One of the most common defenses involves the concept of reasonable suspicion. Police officers cannot pull you over unless they have a reason to believe that you are engaged in criminal activity. If you were pulled over for no reason and then arrested for DUI, the charges may be thrown out if you can prove the police officer had no right to stop you in the first place. This is just one of the many defenses that a skilled attorney may be able to use in your case.
You will need to move quickly if you have been charged with DUI so you can avoid having your license suspended and begin the fight against your criminal charges. Contact our DUI attorneys to schedule a free consultation by calling 303-291-0555.
Free Case Evaluation
If you or a dear one got injured in an accident, are having insurance disputes or are facing criminal charges in Denver or in the state of Colorado - contact our Denver personal injury attorneys NOW for a free case evaluation and initial consultation. Time is of the essence. Let our experienced lawyers fight for your justice.