Assault and Homicide
Inflicting harm on another person is a crime in the state of Colorado. The charges that you face will depend on the amount of harm that you caused, the manner in which you harmed the victim, your intent, and how badly the victim suffered as a result of your actions.
The Degrees of Assault in Colorado
Assault is charged as either first, second, or third degree assault depending on the details of the crime. First degree assault is the most serious offense of the three. You may be charged with this crime if you intentionally cause serious bodily harm to another person. A person has suffered serious bodily injury if the injuries put him at a great risk of death, disfigurement, or impairment. Second degree assault is similar to first degree assault with one exception: the injuries that the victim sustains are not as severe. Third degree assault is committed when you recklessly or knowingly cause another person harm. Even though third degree assault is the least serious of the three assault charges, it still carries serious penalties, including a possible prison sentence and fine of up to $5,000.
By working with an experienced assault attorney, you may be able to get your charges dropped or reduced. Discuss your case in greater detail by scheduling a consultation with Reisch Law Firm as soon as possible after you have charged.
Colorado Homicide Laws
Killing another person is by far the most serious crime that you can be charged with in Colorado. If you have been accused of killing another person, there are several different charges that you may face depending on the details of the crime, including first degree and second degree murder, manslaughter, vehicular homicide, and criminally negligent homicide.
First and second degree murder are similar, but second degree murder does not involve premeditation. First degree murder, which is the most serious charge that you can face in Colorado, is punishable by a life sentence or the death penalty, whereas second degree murder is punishable by up to 48 years in prison and fines of up to $1 million.
If you are convicted of murder, it means that you knowingly killed another person. However, the crimes of manslaughter, vehicular homicide, and criminally negligent homicide are not committed by those with an intention to kill. These crimes occur because of recklessness, carelessness, or negligence. Vehicular homicide and criminally negligent homicide are almost identical with one exception. Vehicular homicide is a type of criminally negligent homicide where the victim’s death is caused by the defendant’s driving.
Legal Representation for Those Accused of Assault or Homicide
If you are facing assault or homicide charges, hiring an experienced criminal defense attorney is your best bet at protecting your future. Our team of skilled assault and homicide attorneys can review the details of your case and immediately begin forming a solid defense strategy. We will work tirelessly to achieve the best possible outcome in your case. Schedule a consultation with our team today by calling 303-291-0555.
Free Case Evaluation
If you or a dear one got injured in an accident, are having insurance disputes or are facing criminal charges in Denver or in the state of Colorado - contact our Denver personal injury attorneys NOW for a free case evaluation and initial consultation. Time is of the essence. Let our experienced lawyers fight for your justice.