Thousands of people are killed in traffic accidents caused by distracted driving every year. Although there are countless different types of distractions, cell phones are considered one of the most dangerous. For this reason, many states have established laws prohibiting the use of cell phones while driving. What are the distracted driving laws in Colorado? Here’s what drivers should know:
Drivers who are under the age of 18 are prohibited from using a cell phone while behind the wheel. This includes making phone calls, sending text messages, browsing the web, and any other similar use of a device. Minor drivers who violate this rule will face a small fine of $50, however this fine is increased to $100 if it is not the driver’s first offense.
In the past, the state of Colorado prohibited all adult drivers from texting while driving. But in 2017, a law that loosens these restrictions was passed. Now, adult drivers can only be penalized if they are texting “in a careless or imprudent manner.”
It is up to each police officer patrolling the streets to determine if a driver is texting in a careless manner or not. If a driver is swerving in and out of his lane because he’s distracted by his phone, this would be considered careless texting and driving. In this case, the driver would face a fine of $300. The driver would also have four points added to his driving record. However, if an officer does not believe the driver’s texting is careless, the driver is not violating any laws by using his cell phone behind the wheel. Therefore, the driver will not be fined and his driving record will not be affected by his decision to drive while distracted.
Many people were outraged–and rightfully so–by the decision to loosen the distracted driving laws in Colorado. Drivers may feel more comfortable using their cell phones while behind the wheel as a result of this law, which means the roads could be filled with dangerous distracted drivers. Fortunately, anyone who is injured by a distracted driver has the right to recover compensation for their injuries.
If you have been injured in a car accident caused by a distracted driver, contact Reisch Law Firm at once. Let our personal injury attorneys hold the distracted driver accountable for their negligent driving. Schedule a free consultation today by calling 303-291-0555 or filling out this online form.