Petty vs. Misdemeanor vs. Felony Theft in Colorado

Petty vs. Misdemeanor vs. Felony Theft in Colorado

In the state of Colorado, theft is committed when someone steals another person’s property. No theft charge should be taken lightly, but some are far more serious than others. The severity of the criminal charges will depend on the value of the personal property that was stolen. Here’s what you need to know about petty vs. misdemeanor vs. felony theft in Colorado:

Petty Theft

If the value of the property that was stolen is less than $50, the theft is considered a petty offense. This crime is often referred to as “petty theft,” and it typically involves people who shoplift low-value items from retailers.

Misdemeanor Theft

The crime is classified as a misdemeanor if the value of the items stolen is more than $50, but less than $2,000. It is considered a class 3 misdemeanor if the value is between $50 and $300, a class 2 misdemeanor if the value is between $300 and $750, and a class 1 misdemeanor if the value is between $750 and $2,000. The penalties vary depending on which type of misdemeanor the crime is classified as, with class 1 carrying the most serious consequences. Class 1 misdemeanors are punishable by up to 18 months in jail and fines of up to $5,000.

Felony Theft

Theft is considered a felony if the value of the stolen property is more than $2,000. Similar to misdemeanor theft, there are several different types of felony theft. If the value of the property is between $2,000 and $5,000, the crime is a class 6 felony. The charge is upgraded to a class 5 felony if the value of the property is between $5,000 and $20,000. Defendants can face class 4 felony charges when the value is between $20,000 and $100,000, and class 3 felony charges if the value is between $100,000 and $1 million.

Finally, the theft of property valued at over $1 million is a class 2 felony, which is the most serious of all theft charges. Anyone who is convicted of a class 2 felony could face up to 24 years in prison and fines of up to $1 million.

Theft charges carry serious penalties, but fortunately, a charge does not always lead to a conviction. If you are facing theft charges, contact the criminal defense attorneys at Reisch Law Firm to discuss your legal options. Schedule a free consultation today by calling 303-291-0555 or filling out this online form.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *