Disorderly conduct is one of the least serious crimes in the state of Colorado, but it still carries penalties that can greatly affect the rest of your life.
Understanding Disorderly Conduct Charges
The legal definition of disorderly conduct is broad, which means you may be arrested for this crime without even realizing that you were doing something wrong. In Colorado, you may be charged with committing disorderly conduct if you do one of the following:
- Get into an altercation with another person in a public place
- Make unreasonably loud noise either in a public place or near a private residence that you do not have a legal right to occupy
- Make an offensive gesture, comment, or display that is meant to disturb the public
- Discharge a weapon in a public place, unless you are doing so lawfully either as a law enforcement officer or as a civilian who is hunting or engaging in target practice
- Displaying a deadly weapon or saying that you have a deadly weapon in a public place in an effort to alarm others
Because the definition of this crime is so broad, it is often brought against anyone who is considered to be disturbing the peace or behaving recklessly in public.
Consequences of a Disorderly Conduct Conviction
Disorderly conduct can be charged as either a petty offense or a misdemeanor, depending on the nature of the crime. If you are convicted of a petty offense disorderly conduct charge, you may face up to $500 in fines and up to six months in jail. However, if you are convicted of a misdemeanor disorderly conduct charge, you can face up to one year in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.
Defending Disorderly Conduct Charges
There are a few defense strategies that are commonly used in cases involving disorderly conduct. If you are charged with disorderly conduct for fighting in public, you may be able to prove that the other person involved in the fight was the instigator, and you were simply protecting yourself. You might also be able to prove that the alleged offensive comments you made were protected by your rights under the First Amendment of the Constitution. These are just two of the many ways that an attorney may attempt to get your charges dropped.
Let a skilled disorderly conduct attorney review your case to determine the best way to defend you against these charges.
Protect Your Rights After Being Charged With Disorderly Conduct
If you have been arrested and charged with disorderly conduct, it’s important to stay calm and remain silent. Everyone who is placed under arrest has the right to remain silent. It’s very important that you exercise this right so you don’t accidentally say something incriminating to the police officer.
Another right you should exercise after you have been arrested is your right to a criminal defense attorney. Contact the disorderly conduct attorneys at Reisch Law Firm as soon as possible after you have been arrested. Schedule a free consultation with us today by calling 303-291-0555.
Free Case Evaluation
If you or a dear one got injured in an accident, are having insurance disputes or are facing criminal charges in Denver or in the state of Colorado - contact our Denver personal injury attorneys NOW for a free case evaluation and initial consultation. Time is of the essence. Let our experienced lawyers fight for your justice.